Newmachar Hawkshill - 14th June 2024

Just 10 miles from the centre of Aberdeen, nestled in the beautiful Aberdeenshire countryside, lies the golfing gem that is Newmachar Golf Club. The Hawkshill Championship course was the venue for the latest Golfpairs event. Once described by the late, great, Peter Alliss as “destined to become one of the top 5 inland courses in the country” the Dave Thomas designed heathland course measures over 6500 yards from the white tees and would provide a stern test for our golfers.

Campbell and Bavidge take it on countback

44 teams took to the Hawkshill course and 2 of those teams returned with a fantastic 46 points. Countback eventually separating our winners Bill Campbell and Peter Bavidge from the unlucky runners up Donald Murray and Neil Angus. Three birdies on the front 9 helped Bill and Peter to lay the foundations for a great round.

Handicap results:

1st - Bill Campbell + Peter Bavidge (46 points)
2nd - Donald Murray + Neil Angus (46 countback)
3rd - Colin Waddell + Paul Morton (43)
4th - William MacKenzie + Derek Marshall (43 countback) 5th - Grant Aitchison + Jock Royan (42)
6th - Darren Mitchell + Josh Walker (41)

Par 3 competition

1st - William MacKenzie + Derek Marshall (9 points) 2nd - Charles Cassie + Mike Hobin (8 points)
3rd - Richard Pirie + Marc Emerson (7 points)

Longest drive: Wendy Edwards (ladies) Stuart Meade (mens) Nearest the pin: Neil Forman

A huge thank you to all of our golfers and the wonderful staff at Newmachar Golf Club. Hope to see you at our next Scottish event at The Carrick.

Click HERE to see the full results

Leave a comment